Crabcakes? Crabcakes!

Crabcakes? Crabcakes!

So I made some crabcakes last night. They were (and I’m not going to sugar coat it) pretty damn good. Not many things make me happier than potato-y things which come with the possibility of sour cream being an accompanying ingredient. Here’s the “recipe” I used (I just guessed what ingredients would be nice and I eyeballed all of the measurements) While it may seem like I wung it (past-tense of “wing it”) I assure you, crabcakes will not fail too harshly if your ratios of ingredients aren’t perfect! This recipe made eight very generously sized cakes. Feel free to use less potato and make meatier versions as well!

5-6 potatoes
3 cloves of garlic
1/4 cup of finely chopped onions (up to you if you want to sauté them first or leave them raw)
a few tablespoons of finely chopped red pepper
a few tablespoons of finely chopped carrot (I peeled a carrot then I peeled the carrot down all the way to the middle and then chopped the nice clean peels)
1 & 1/2 to 2 cups of finely chopped crabmeat (I gotta warned you, I used the cheapest kind ever and it was still pretty good!)
1/2 to 3/4 cup of grated cheese (I used old cheddar because that’s what people in England eat)
a heaping tablespoon of mayonnaise
salt, pepper, herbs de Provence, dried chives (though I would’ve definitely used fresh chives and or dill if I had it!)
breadcrumbs (panko breadcrumbs if you’re feeling frisky)
bit o’ oil

Boil those potatoes (I always put a peeled clove of garlic in with the potatoes to get all boily and add flavour) mash them up real good (with milk, lots of butter, etc – to your liking, of course!) Set that glorious bounty aside to cool.

Chop up the following and put in a big ol’ bowl:
onion, garlic, red pepper, carrot, crab meat
Add mayo, cheese, S n’ P (salt and pepper) and herbs to bowl.

Add potatoes.

Mix until everything is all living as one.

Wash your hands, you heathen.

Get a fairly large pan and pop like 1-2 tablespoons of oil in there, heat on medium.

Grab a shallow bowl or something to put the breadcrumbs in. Put about 1/2 cup in or whatever (I don’t mind how much breadcrumb action is going on with your crabcakes, gosh.)

Get in that bigger bowl with your nice clean hands, and grab a handful at a time to shape into crabcake shapes. If you dont know what that shape is, I suggest you go sit down in a quiet room for a while and think about what you’ve done.

Coat the fat discs of majesty in the breadcrumbs and pop them in your pan. Cook for a while on both sides somewhere between until you feel you can’t take it anymore and burnt.

EAT THOSE BABIES WITH SOME SOUR CREAM (and some salad on the side… or green beans… or broccoli… or whatever you want to eat as a side)

3 thoughts on “Crabcakes? Crabcakes!

  1. Love how this is written. And this recipie sounds awesome! I’m defiantly going to try it out. Last time I made crab cakes the recipie called for “old bay” seasoning and it was terrible. That’s all you could taste. Great first post!!

Leave a Reply

