Birthday Cake!

Birthday Cake!

So this past Friday, my lovely James celebrated a birthday! I won’t tell you how old he turned as I’m guessing he would have me excommunicated back to Canada, but it was definitely a birthday worth celebrating!

He didn’t want anything for his birthday (which is ultra annoying when people say that) so I got him some stuff, and I made him some stuff, and I baked this BLOODY GLORIOUS cake!

I used a recipe I found online here. (This woman, Jane Maynard has a fantastic blog and this specific post was made on my birthday! HEY!)

I still feel a bit new at making up cake recipes, so I’ve borrowed that one – but let me tell you – it was sooooo good. SO GOOD. GO MAKE IT NOW. MAKE IT.

There is an icing recipe included on Jane’s lovely posting, but I used an ol’ family favourite. This comes from my mum’s mum and it is MY ALL TIME FAVOURITE icing ever. And it is SO EASY. So go forth, and make some! Even if you don’t have a cake to frost!

(Easy and lovely) Chocolate Icing (thank you Grandma Pat!)

2 cups icing sugar
3 tablespoons of cocoa powder
1/3 cup butter
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon salt (sometimes I put a little more because I LOVE salt and chocolate)

Combine all ingredients and beat until smooth.

(seriously, it’s that easy)

One thought on “Birthday Cake!

  1. your cake is so pretty, and I’m glad you LOVE that recipe as much as I do. seriously, so GOOD, right? I’m glad I have another missionary helping me with the effort of converting the world to this cake! 🙂

Leave a Reply

