happy easter carrot cake!

happy easter carrot cake!

This recipe came as a pleasant surprise to me; I knew I didn’t have eggs but I knew I wanted a carrot cake for Easter. So, rather than trundling off to the shop which may or may not have been open today- I made a simple applesauce to use in place of any eggs I thought a cake recipe might require. What turned out was a (yes slightly dense but) absolutely delicious carrot cake made up completely on the spot! So genius! And the best part is is that it was super easy even an idiot could throw it together!

Ingredients

For the cake:
1 1/4 cups of all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg
1 1/4 cups of white granulated sugar
1/4 of a cup of brown sugar (I ran out of white, and needed more sugar)
1/2 cup of vegetable oil
1/2 cup of applesauce*
1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups of grated carrot (I used 3 regular sized peeled carrots for this)
a dash of milk if needed (my mixture was a bit dry so I added a tiny amount)

1. Preheat yo oven to 350° C (that’s 180° F for you English folk!)

2. Grease and flour a pan. I used a round 9″ loose based pan for this, but I think I could’ve used something smaller.

3. In a medium bowl, sift flour, salt, baking soda, baking power, cinnamon, nutmeg together.

dry ingredients before sifting.

dry ingredients before sifting.

4. In a separate bowl, mix sugars, oil, applesauce and vanilla together. Add the bowl of sifted dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix together until the mixture is a uniform texture. If it’s a bit sticky and “dry” (by that i mean dough-y) then pop a dash of milk in there, (or yogurt if you have it would be fine too I imagine.) Add the grated carrot, and fold it in.

peeled carrots

carrot-y goodness

5. Pour that lovely mixture in your pan, and bake for 25-35 minutes depending on the pan size and depth. I baked mine for 35 minutes and it was perfect!

*absolutely use store bought applesauce if you have it, but I didn’t so I made my own. I just cut up one apple, stewed it in about 1/4 cup of water, with a teaspoon of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I just cooked it in a small pot until the apple was completely squishable and then mashed it up with a potato masher! I let it cool down to room temperature before starting to make the cake. One apple done this way gave me 1/2 cup of applesauce.

For the icing:
I whipped up a really simple and completely unmeasured buttermilk icing. I creamed together butter (about 2 tablespoons) and icing sugar (about a cup and a quarter) and a few drops of milk. I mixed it all together and spread it on top. This recipe as a whole was very “what do I have in my fridge/ cupboards” so I didn’t have enough butter to make enough to cover the sides of the cake HOWEVER I sincerely think this worked to my advantage. The edges of the cake were a bit more chewy than the middle and maybe with icing on top you would’ve lost that! Either way, I’m completely happy and a bit shocked that it worked out so well!

Happy cake-baking (and eating) everyone!

Leave a Reply

